The Accreditation Board

The Accreditation Board is a balanced representation of interested parties. 

One of the main roles of the Board is to safeguard impartiality of the accreditation process.

NAB-Malta Board members
Ing. Ruben Curmi
Vice Chairman
Ing. Charles Brincat
Board Member
Ing. Noel Micallef
Board Member
Mr. Edward Xuereb
Board Member
Ms. Gertrude Gatt-Lanzon
Board Member
Mr. Noel Demicoli
Board Member
Perit Vincent Magri
Board Member
Dr. Mario Mifsud
Board Member
Mr. Christopher Farrugia
Board Member
Dr. Jessica Rita Galea
Board Member
Mr. Lincoln Grixti
Secretary to the Board
Ing. Claudio Boffa

All Board members have to meet specific competence criteria as established in the NAB-MALTA quality system and in line with the requirements of EN ISO/IEC 17011:2017. They also sign an agreement in relation to confidentiality and impartiality.

The Board operates according to an agreed terms of reference.

The functions of the Board include:

  • To act as the National Accreditation Body in Malta responsible for accreditation in accordance with the relevant national, international and European standards and guides, and the applicable national, international and European regulations.
  • To act as the National Accreditation Body in Malta responsible for adopting commitments and obligations relating to accreditation arising out of any international agreement, whether bilateral, regional or multilateral.
  • To take decisions on the granting, extending, reducing or withdrawing of accreditation of conformity assessment bodies.
  • To determine the general policy and objectives of the Accreditation Directorate.
  • To approve, on recommendation of the Accreditation Directorate, the establishment and disbanding of technical committees as and when required.